Sunday, July 13, 2014

Meeting the family

Yes, I know what you are all thinking here.  It's is something along the lines of one of these three comments:

1) But Brian has already met your family.

2) Didn't you meet Brian's family long before you ever met him or even knew of his existence?

3) I thought Brian had no contact with the majority of his family.

All three of these statements are, in fact, true.  Well ... mostly true, in any case. 

Brian has, in fact met the part of my family that I am close to and see on any kind of regular basis.  Not that I would turn down the chance to introduce him to other, more distant, family members should the opportunity arise.  But it isn't something I am going to make a huge effort to do just because I'm getting married in a year.

The part about my meeting Brian's family before I met him is only half true.  I got to know his dad, stepmother and three half-siblings back in 1996 through an interesting combination of St Alphonsus Church in Ballard, and the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism).  Over time they adopted me and my then-boyfriend/husband into their family.  And due to a highly unfortunate set of circumstances over the last two years, I have lost a large part of that connection to the surviving four members of that family.  Three of which I would dearly love to be able to celebrate our engagement with and include in the wedding festivities.  Sadly, I fear the only way I could make that happen would be to do and/or say something that I know to be a lie and compromise my own personal set of ethics.  I still hold hope in my heart, however, that I can reconcile with that "adoptive family" without having to do something I believe to be wrong.

But it is that third statement that is the subject of this blog today. 

It is true that Brian has, by his own personal choice, no contact with the majority of his family.  Coming from such a different family dynamic and upbringing, I cannot even begin to understand what governs this decision of his, but I know that I respect it, and would never try and tell him how to handle his emotions or manage those relationships.  I will let Brian handle this in his own way. 

Despite his own "self exile" from most family members, Brian has maintained a good relationship with his younger sister Heidi.  I've met her as well, and she is awesome.  And not just because she and her SO came to our housewarming and brought candied bacon and good tequila (though they were both quite delicious!)  She is just a really cool and awesome person.  Which is why I was so pleased that she invited both of us to her daughter's wedding. 

Granted, it took Brian a while to come to grips with attending a Family Function (capitalization intentional).  I wasn't going to push it; I let him make the decision as to whether or not to go.  I think attending his dad's burial service is what made Brian feel more comfortable with making the decision to go.  Once he did, though, I took the role of Social Organizer, and made sure everything was taken care of -- gift purchased, timeline arranged, and so on.  What can I say ... it's what I do.  I'm very glad we went.  It was a lovely wedding, at a lovely venue in the Snohomish/Monroe area (the part of Snohomish that is really much closer to Monroe, for those who know the area and/or ever attended a party at Kat Schroeder's old place).




So, this is where I got to Meet The Family (capitalization once again intentional).

A part of me feels a little bad, because I sort of made it happen.  Brian was more than content to stay in our little corner of the reception venue and only talk to his sister and congratulate his niece, the lovely bride.  But I was curious.  Really, really curious.  Despite the pain and upset that I knew some of these people had/have caused my dearest love, I still felt the overwhelming urge to meet them.  Maybe I was hoping to get a little bit of what Brian has gotten from my family and extended Gualala family -- the glimpse into a totally different side of Brian from his childhood and early adulthood.  Or maybe it was just simply not wanting the regret of not having met anyone from that side of the family when I actually had the chance to do so.  I don't know, probably a little of both.

Anyway, after spending some time getting that "glimpse of Brian's childhood" that I wanted from a family friend who shared our table for dinner, my curiosity got the best of me.  And when Brian excused himself to use the restroom, I decided to help the volunteers that were setting up the wedding cake and cupcake display.  Which just happened to be where the mother of the bride was sitting with the rest of her family.  I'm pretty sure Heidi knew exactly what I was doing, and why, because she was kind enough to introduce me to her mother, aunt and uncle.  Which, not surprisingly, prompted a lot of response along the line of "Brian is HERE?!"

That is what I feel a little bad about.  Obviously, a response and revelation like that is going to be acted upon.  So when I went back to join my sweetheart at the table, we had a couple of additional visitors.  Talking with his aunt (dad's sister) was lovely, and once again I appreciated getting a different and new look into that side of the family.  I won't go into details, but we'll just say I learned a lot about another man I knew pretty well.  When Brian's mother came up to talk, I knew I needed to give them space.  They talked for quite a while, during which time I got to meet his older sister, Ginny (who did a fantastic job coordinating the whole wedding; it really was lovely, and fun, and a good time).

During this whole time, I recognized how hard this was on Brian, and I hope he can forgive me for being the catalyst to a reunion that he never wanted nor asked for.  Still, I just can't help but be grateful to get the chance to meet these people I have only heard about.  I wouldn't dream of telling Brian what to do about his relationship with his family, or negate his very real and justifiable feelings.  And whatever happens going forward, I'm glad to have gotten this opportunity.

Oh, and when I finally did get to meet and congratulate the bride, it got even better.  Apparently, her childhood nickname for Brian was "Uncle Chunk", named after the chubby kid from "The Goonies" movie.  This is how she addressed him when we went to talk to her.  I plan on using that nickname at any appropriate opportunity I get!

I never said I wasn't an EVIL bride-to-be ...  ;)

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Wedding Wire ... and how it can kiss my @$$ ...

So, I'm trying not to obsess about the wedding planning, but I'm failing pretty miserably.  I actually enjoy all the planning and such, and not even having a date set for something that should happen around this time next year is really freaking me out.  I don't like it.  However, the venue that we really want to use can't give us their availability for a couple more months, so I'm pretty much stuck in this limbo.  I guess I have a few more lessons on patience left to learn.

The venue, should we end up getting it, is really cool.  It's a Masonic Family Park in Granite Falls.  They have a big industrial kitchen, and lots of open picnic areas, and several large covered picnic shelters, and a covered amphitheater that we think would be perfect for the ceremony.  The SCA does several events each year at this property, so they are used to big groups of crazy people.  So yeah, we are really hoping this works out.



Oh, yeah, so ... why am I pissed off at Wedding Wire?  Well, as part of that whole "needing to plan" feeling, I decided to look at one of the sites that a friend of mine had used to make her wedding website.  I liked WW's website tool, and built something that looked cute, and appropriate for us and everything.  I was kind of annoyed that they wouldn't even let you register without giving the wedding date, but figured I could just put one that was within our window range and it would be good enough.  They also had a pretty good budgeting tool and calendar checklist.

Then I discovered the forums.  And found the biggest group of snobby, judgmental, bitchy brides-to-be.  It was like someone had made internet clones of my future SIL and put them all there on these discussion forums.

Here are some of the things I learned from the oh-so-helpful people on the Wedding Wire forums:

1) If you are on any kind of budget restrictions, the only option you have is to severely limit your guest list.  Because anyone who plans a wedding must provide a full formal sit down meal for every guest.  Otherwise no one will want to come to your wedding.  Because obviously, the only way people will want to share in the joy of the happiest day of a friend's life is if they are bribed with food and drink and entertainment.

2) All weddings must not only have a formal reception, but any wedding over 25 guests must have a formal seating chart.  If there is no seating chart, all the guests will hate the bride for the rest of her natural life.

3) Potluck wedding receptions are the tackiest thing in the universe and any bride contemplating holding one should be tarred and feathered and run out of town.

4) Do-it-yourself reception food is only slightly less tacky than potluck.  And if you do make your own food, rather than hire a professional caterer, half the wedding guests are guaranteed to come down with food poisoning.

5) Brides who do not do wedding registries are obviously just begging their guests for cash gifts, which is a sin of greed beyond redemption.  All brides need to register with at least one store, because apparently wedding guests are unable to make their own decisions about what to give a couple as a wedding gift.

6) Family members' demands should be accommodated at all costs because family is paramount when planning a wedding.  Abusive/neglectful relatives are, luckily, often granted an exception to this rule.  Likewise if the couple is paying for the wedding themselves.

7) Every large detail and many small details should be worked out and locked down at least 12 months before the wedding date.  If not, you are a slacker bride who doesn't deserve anything better than an elopement or a backyard ceremony for 20 people (with a fully catered meal, of course!).

8) Everyone you invite to an engagement party needs to be invited to the wedding.  Everyone you invite to the wedding should be invited to any after parties you host.  If you can only have, or only want, a small number of people at the after party, then you should have a very small wedding (with a fully catered meal, of course!).  Same thing with wedding showers.  It must be an all or nothing deal, otherwise you are a rude bridezilla.

9) Any time a bride puts her foot down or takes a stand for something she feels strongly about, she is a Bridezilla.

10) Someone is always going to complain about something in regards to your wedding, and try to tell you that it is wrong and that "their way" is right.



Okay, so that last one is actually true ...

I'm keeping my account, so that I can continue to use the planning tools and the website (which I will post, once I get the venue and the date locked down).  But I'm walking away from the forums.  Maybe I'll go back.  Maybe not.  They were just becoming an obsession, and a source of frustration.  Something I really don't need now.